Announcements

You can find reminders on homework deadlines, upcoming exams, changes to the office hours schedule (if needed), etc. here! Make sure you check this section at least once a week!


Office Hours


Week 1 | 08/24/2020 - 08/30/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
1.1 Welcome to STAT 430! [YouTube] [Media Space] [Syllabus]
1.2 Installing Python & git [YouTube] [Media Space] [Windows] [Mac] [git]
1.3 Intro to Jupyter Notebook [lab01]
1.4 Basics of Programming [YouTube] [Media Space] [1.4]

Week 2 | 08/31/2020 - 09/06/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
2.1 Data Types [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.1]
2.2 Control Flow [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.2]
2.3 Lab 02 [lab02]
2.4 Tuple [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 1 11:59 PM Wed, 09/02/2020 100%
HW 1 11:59 PM Sun, 09/06/2020 105%

Week 3 | 09/07/2020 - 09/13/2020

Lectures

Topics Video Mirror Notes
3.1 List [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.1]
3.2 Dictionary [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.2]
3.3 Lab 03 [lab03]
3.4 Function [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 2 11:59 PM Wed, 09/09/2020 100%
HW 1 11:59 PM Fri, 09/11/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 09/13/2020 80%

Week 4 | 09/14/2020 - 09/20/2020

Lectures

Topics Video Mirror Notes
4.1 Errors & Exception Handling [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.1]
4.2 NumPy Basics: Part 1 [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.2]
4.3 NumPy Basics: Part 2 [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.3]
4.4 Lab 04 [lab04]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 3 11:59 PM Wed, 09/16/2020 100%
HW 2 11:59 PM Tue, 09/15/2020 105%
11:59 PM Fri, 09/18/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 09/20/2020 80%
HW 3 11:59 PM Sun, 09/20/2020 105%

Week 5 | 09/21/2020 - 09/27/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
5.1 NumPy: Linear Algebra [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.1]
5.2 NumPy: Mathematical & Statistical Methods [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.2]
5.3 NumPy Application: Random Walks [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.3]
5.4 Lab 05 [lab05]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 4 11:59 PM Wed, 09/23/2020 100%
HW 3 11:59 PM Fri, 09/25/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 09/27/2020 80%

Week 6 | 09/28/2020 - 10/04/2020

Lectures

  • No course material this week.
  • Review of previous materials.

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Exam 1 Thur, 10/01/2020 100%
Lab 05 11:59 PM Wed, 09/30/2020 100%
HW 4 11:59 PM Tue, 09/29/2020 105%
11:59 PM Fri, 10/02/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 10/04/2020 80%

Week 7 | 10/05/2020 - 10/11/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
7.1 Intro to Git & GitHub [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.1]
7.2 Git Branches [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.2]
7.3 Lab 06 [lab06]
7.4 pandas: Series [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
HW 5 11:59 PM Sun, 10/11/2020 105%

Week 8 | 10/12/2020 - 10/18/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
8.1 pandas: DataFrame [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.1]
8.2 pandas: Essential Functionality [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.2]
8.3 pandas: Summarizing and Computing Descriptive Statistics [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.3]
8.4 Lab 07 [lab07]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 06 11:59 PM Wed, 10/14/2020 100%
HW 5 11:59 PM Fri, 10/16/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 10/18/2020 80%
HW 6 11:59 PM Sun, 10/18/2020 105%

Week 9 | 10/19/2020 - 10/25/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
9.1 pandas: Reading & Writing Data [YouTube] [Media Space] [9.1]
9.2 pandas: Data Cleaning [YouTube] [Media Space] [9.2]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 07 11:59 PM Wed, 10/21/2020 100%
HW 6 11:59 PM Fri, 10/23/2020 100%
11:59 PM Sun, 10/25/2020 80%

Week 10 | 10/26/2020 - 11/01/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
10.1 pandas: Data Transformation [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.1]
10.2 pandas: Data Wrangling [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.2]
10.3 pandas: GroupBy Mechanics [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.3]
10.4 Lab 08 [lab08]

Week 11 | 11/02/2020 - 11/08/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
11.1 Data Aggregation [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.1]
11.2 String Manipulation [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.2]
11.3 Regular Expressions [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.3]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
HW 7 11:59 PM Fri, 11/06/2020 105%
11:59 PM Sun, 11/08/2020 100%

Week 12

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
12.1 Plotting with Matplotlib.pyplot [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.1]
12.2 Plotting with seaborn [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.2]
12.3 Intro to Plotly - Plotly Express [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.3]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
HW 7 11:59 PM Wed, 11/11/2020 80%
Lab08 11:59 PM Sun, 11/15/2020 100%

Week 13 | 11/16/2020 - 11/22/2020

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
13.1 Web App with Dash [YouTube] [Media Space] [13.1]
13.2 Interactivity - Call Back in Dash [YouTube] [Media Space] [13.2]
13.3 Web App Example [YouTube] [Media Space] No notes

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Exam 2 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM Tue, 11/17/2020 100%
HW 8 11:59 PM Tue, 11/17/2020 105%
HW 8 11:59 PM Fri, 11/20/2020 100%
HW 8 11:59 PM Sun, 11/22/2020 80%

Week 14 | 11/23/2020 - 11/29/2020


Week 15 | 11/30/2020 - 12/06/2020


Week 16 | 12/07/2020 - 12/13/2020


REMEMBER!

When in doubt, post your question on Piazza or email me at ! Don’t wait!